Train Tunnel

Train tunnels – the special challenge

Train tunnels pose a special challenge: dynamic alternating pressure loads of up to 10 kPa at several million load changes and static pressures of up to 30 kPA are maximally demanding for door and gate systems. Elkuch has mastered the technology that can ensure reliability and operational safety under these conditions over a service life of at least 20 years.

Impressive Swiss GateSystems

Both in operation and in an emergency: nothing may be left to chance when it comes to the functionality of the railway tunnel gates. Already during the development, every component is carefully selected and checked with FE models. The complex steel composite construction of the door leaves and frames as well as the drives and controls are subjected to numerous tests and quality checks. This is the only way to meet the high requirements for fire resistance, smoke tightness, fatigue strength, opening forces and sound insulation and to guarantee absolute operational capability.

Unparalleled references

High-quality engineering and precise working methods enable door and gate solutions that have been successfully installed in major railway tunnel projects. The world's longest railway tunnel, the Gotthard Base Tunnel, completed in 2016 and 57 km long, but also the Loetschberg and Ceneri Base Tunnels are among the remarkable projects that Elkuch has been able to equip with more than 850 safety gates.

Extensive product portfolio

Thanks to its broad experience in railway tunnel construction, Elkuch has a broad and proven product range:

  • Crossover gates
  • Lane change gates
  • Emergency stop gates
  • Cavern gates
  • Portal gates
  • Sluice gates
  • Mobile gates
  • Doors and gates for technical rooms
  • Special door solutions

Crossover Gates

For the self-rescue and evacuation of large numbers of people, escape sliding doors have proven their worth in tunnels with forced ventilation. Sliding doors can be used safely at any time without influencing the opening force when emergency ventilation is switched on.

Technical Specifications
Dimensions 2'000 mm x 2'200 mm
Dimensions (2) 3'000 mm x 2'200 mm

Fire resistance::

EI90 acc. to EN 1634

Pressure/suction load:

± 30 kPa for two million load changes

Leakage:

min. 50 m³/h at 100 Pa

Opening force:

100 N

Service life:

> 30 Jahre

Special design:

upon request

Lane change gate for railway tunnel

Lane change gates are designed for long high-speed railway tunnels and are used in tunnel zones where trains can change from one tube to the other. When they are closed, lane change gates are used for the aerodynamic separation of the two tubes in normal operation or, in the event of an incident, in order to reduce smoke build-up in the counter tube. When they are open, they allow continued – albeit limited – use of the tunnel if sections are closed for maintenance or due to breakdowns.

The lane change gate is designed for assembly in the tunnel and consists of modular stainless steel support frames with refractory cover plates. The integrated insulator allows the catenary to be enclosed when live. An ingenious drive and locking concept, which prevents uncontrolled movement of the door leaves, opens and closes the gate in less than two minutes and meets the SIL-4 safety level. In the event of an incident or power failure, the gate leaves can be operated simply by means of a hand crank. The control system is integrated into the tunnel control system and allows remote control and monitoring of the gate.

Technical Specifications

Version:

2-leaf

Dimensions:

4‘080 mm x 6‘550 mm

Fire resistance:

90 Minutes at 160°C

Pressure/suction load::

± 20 kPa for 1 Million load changes ± 10 kPa for 2 Million load changes

Leakage surface:

< 0.5 m2

Service life:

> 30 Jahre

Safety requirement:

SIL-4

Arrangement:

In the main tunnel or in the lane change zone

Special design::

Upon request

Optional:

Integrated escape doors

Emergency stop gates

This robust fire protection sliding door is designed for the evacuation of large numbers of people in high-speed railway tunnels. The integrated control system allows automatic opening and closing via the tunnel control system.

Technical Specifications

Version:

1-leaf

Dimensions:

2000 mm x 2200 mm / 3000 mm x 2200 mm

Fire resistance

EI90 acc. to EN 1634

Pressure/suction load:

± 20 kPa for two million load changes

Leakage:

min. 50 m³/h bei 100 Pa

Opening force:

100 N

Service life:

> 30 Years

Special design:

upon request

Sluice Gate

Sluice gates are used to compensate for and maintain pressure differences in the tunnel and can be designed for people and/or vehicles. A special feature of sluice gates is the lock control system that ensures that only the doors or gates are open on one side at a time.

In order to withstand the high pressure requirements in railway tunnels, the sluice gates are constructed of a welded stainless steel frame construction. If required, sandwich panels are screwed on for fire protection. High-quality inflatable seals minimize leakage. Personal protection strips on the main and secondary closing edges prevent the risk of injury, e.g. from jamming. Personnel and vehicle locks can be opened manually or electrically and close automatically, even in the event of a power failure. Both passenger and vehicle sluice gates can be supplied as swinging or sliding gates.

Sluice control

The core element of the sluice is the control system, which must work perfectly together with the individual elements such as the actuating pulse, venting of the inflatable seal and unlocking of the doors. Electromagnetic locks on all doors ensure that only the doors on one side are open at a time. If the airlock is part of the escape route concept, the corresponding requirements must be taken into account..

Technical Specifications

Version:

1- or 2-leaf

Dimensions:

Sluice for people:

 900 mm x 2‘200 mm / 1'700 mm x 2'200 mm /
1'700 mm x 2'500 mm

Sluice for vehicles:

3‘500 mm x 4‘000 mm / 4‘000 mm x 4‘000 mm /
5'000 mm x 4'000 mm

Fire resistance:

EI00, EI30 acc. to EN 1634

Pressure/suction load:

± 10 kPa

Leakage Sluice for people :

27 m3/h at 1 kPa (1‘700 mm x 2‘200 mm)

Leakage Sluice for vehicles

128 m3/h at 1 kPa (4‘000 mm x 4‘000 mm)

Service life:

> 30 Years

Special design:

Upon request

Optional:

Integrated escape doors for people in the sluice for vehicles

Cavern Gate

In addition to the technical requirements, it must also be possible to assemble and disassemble the cavern gates in the tunnel. For this purpose, the design is based on a modular stainless steel support frame. Cavern doors can be electrically and manually opened and closed.

Technical Specifications

Version:

2-leaf

Dimensions:

4‘000 mm x 5‘000 mm

Fire resistance:

---

Pressure/suction load:

± 2 kPa

Service life:

> 30 Years

Special design:

Upon request

Fitting chamber door

Power lines supply the railway tunnels with power, which are regularly connected in the fitting chambers along the main tube. Fitting chamber doors must therefore not only withstand the dynamic forces in the tunnel, but also explosions in the cable glands.

In order to meet these requirements, the fitting chamber doors are constructed of supporting stainless steel frames. The door profiles and hinges are massively reinforced. In the event of an explosion, the two stainless steel pressure relief diaphragms burst and protect the door from overload.

Technische Daten
            

Version:

            
            

1-leaf

            
            

Dimensions:

            
            

1‘540 mm x 2000 mm

            
            

Fire resistance:

            
            

---

            
            

Pressure/suction load:

            
            

+26 / -16 KPa (static)

            
            

Pressing load:

            
            

10 kPa (dynamic) at> 1 Million. load changes

            
            

Bursting pressure:

            
            

16 kPa

            
            

Bursting surface:

            
            

2x 0.5m2

            
            

Service life:

            
            

> 30 Years

            

Special Constructions

Elkuch is specialized in technically high-quality door and gate systems to meet the highest demands. In addition to standard solutions for railway tunnels, we also develop and manufacture custom-made products according to customer requirements. A selection of successfully transferred systems:

  • Visitor window
  • Mobile maintenance gate
  • Cavern gates
  • Prefabricated wall element

Visitor window

A tunnel can be shown, preferably through a visitor window. The stainless steel support structure is provided with break and impact resistant safety glass on three sides. Access to the visitor window is provided by 1 or 2-leaf swinging doors with fire protection.

Technische  Daten

Dimensions:

Upon request

Fire resistance:

EI90 acc. to EN 1634 (Türen)

Pressure/suction load:

± 10 kPa

Leakage:

60m3/h m2 at 10kPa

Service life:

> 30 Years

Mobile maintenance gate

The mobile maintenance gate (MET) is a special rail-bound vehicle with a folding gate that closes the tunnel cross-section at defined positions in the Gotthard base tunnel for maintenance purposes.

Technical Specifications

Version:

1 Element with 2 foldable side leaves

Dimensions:

40.62 m2

Fire resistance:

---

Pressure/suction load:

± 6 kPa, 1 Million load changes

Service life:

> 30 Years

 

Cavern Gates

In addition to the technical requirements, it must also be possible to assemble and disassemble the cavern gates in the tunnel. For this purpose, the design is based a modular stainless steel support frame. The structure is equipped with fire protection panels to ensure fire protection capability. Cavern doors can be electrically and manually opened and closed.

Technical Specifications

Version:

1- or 2-leaf

Dimensions:

12‘370 mm x 3‘965 mm

Fire resistance:

EI90 acc. to EN 1634

Pressure/suction load:

± 10 kPa

Service life:

> 30 Years

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

Prefabricated wall element (PCE)

With the aim of reducing installation times in the tunnel by 90%, Elkuch developed the "Plug-In Crosscut Element" (PCE). As many systems as possible are mounted and tested on a high-precision wall disc. A special assembly device then makes it possible to move several wall elements in the tunnel during one shift.

Technische Daten

Version:

Rail and road Wall element from concrete or steel

Manufacture:

Upon request

Metro – the tailor-made challenges

Metro systems are the arteries of modern cities.
People, machines and infrastructure must be perfectly coordinated in the tightest of spaces.
Elkuch develops and supplies door and gate systems that meet the various requirements of a metro system.

Adaptable product portfolio
Elkuch systems are designed and manufactured in accordance with system-dependent requirements.

Possible applications include:

  • Portal gate
  • Escape doors
  • Rescue doors

Bahntunnel

Bahntunnel – die besondere Herausforderung

Bahntunnels stellen eine besondere Herausforderung dar: dynamische Druck-Wechselbelastungen bis zu 10 kPa bei mehreren Millionen Lastwechsel und statische Drücke bis 30 kPA verlangen von den Tür- und Torsystemen alles ab. Elkuch beherrscht die Technologie, welche die Zuverlässigkeit und Betriebssicherheit bei diesen Bedingungen über die Lebensdauer von mindestens 20 Jahren sicherstellen kann.


Schweizer Torsysteme die überzeugen

Sowohl im Betriebszustand als auch im Notfall: nichts darf dem Zufall überlassen werden wenn es um die Funktionstüchtigkeit der Bahntunneltore geht. Bereits während der Entwicklung wird jede Komponente sorgfältig ausgewählt und mit FE- Modellen überprüft. Sowohl die komplexe Stahl-Verbundkonstruktion der Türblätter und der Zargen als auch die Antriebe und die Steuerungen werden verschiedensten Tests und Qualitätsprüfungen unterworfen. Nur so können die hohen Anforderungen an die Brandbeständigkeit, Rauchdichtheit, Dauerfestigkeit, Öffnungskräfte und Schalldämmung erfüllt und die absolute Betriebstauglichkeit gewährleistet werden.

Rekordverdächtige Referenzen

Hochstehende Ingenieurskunst und präzise Arbeitsweise ermöglichen Tür und Torlösungen, die in massgebenden Bahntunnelprojekten erfolgreich eingebaut werden. So zählen der im Jahr 2016 fertig gestellte und mit 57km längste Bahntunnel der Welt – dem Gotthard Basistunnel - aber auch der Loetschberg und Ceneri Basistunnel zu den bemerkenswerten Projekten, die Elkuch mit mehr als 850 Sicherheitstoren ausrüsten durfte.

Umfassendes Produktportfolio

Dank der breiten Erfahrung im Bahntunnelbau, verfügt Elkuch über ein breites und bewährtes Produktespektrum:

  • Querschlagtore
  • Spurwechseltore
  • Nothaltestellentore
  • Kavernentore
  • Portaltore
  • Schleusentore
  • Mobile Tore
  • Türen und Tore für Technikräume
  • Sondertor Lösungen

Querschlagtore

Für die Selbstrettung und Evakuation von grösseren Menschenmengen bewähren sich in Tunnels mit zwangsbelüfteter Umgebung Fluchtschiebtüren. Schiebetüren können bei eingeschalteter Notbelüftung ohne Einfluss auf die Öffnungskraft jederzeit sicher eingesetzt werden.

 

Technische Daten
Dimensions 2'000 mm x 2'200 mm
Dimensions (2) 3'000 mm x 2'200 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

EI90 nach EN 1634

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 30 kPa bei 2 Millionen Lastwechsel

Leckage:

min. 50 m³/h bei 100 Pa

Öffnungskraft:

100 N

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

 

Spurwechseltor für Bahntunnel

Spurwechseltore sind für lange Hochgeschwindigkeits-Eisenbahntunnels ausgelegt und kommen in Tunnelzonen zum Einsatz, wo Züge von einer Röhre in die andere wechseln können. Geschlossen dienen Spurwechseltore zur aerodynamischen Trennung der beiden Röhren im Normalbetrieb oder im Ereignisfall, um eine Verrauchung der Gegenröhre zu verhindern. Offen erlauben sie die weitere - wenn auch eingeschränkte - Nutzung des Tunnels, wenn Teilabschnitte für Wartung oder wegen Pannen gesperrt sind.

 

Das Spurwechseltor ist für den Zusammenbau im Tunnel konstruiert und setzt sich aus modularen Edelstahl-Tragrahmen mit feuerfesten Abdeckplatten zusammen. Der integrierte Isolator, erlaubt die Umschliessung der Fahrleitung unter Spannung. Ein raffiniertes Antriebs- und Verriegelungskonzept, welches ein unkontrolliertes Bewegen der Torflügel ausschliesst, öffnet und schliesst das Tor in weniger als 2 Minuten und erfüllt die Sicherheitsstufe SIL-4. Im Ereignisfall oder bei Stromausfall, können die Torflügel mittels Handkurbel einfach bedient werden. Die Steuerung ist in das Tunnel-Leitsystem eingebunden und erlaubt die Fernbedienung und Überwachung des Tores.

Technische Daten

Ausführung:

2-flügelig

Dimensionen:

4‘080 mm x 6‘550 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

90 Minuten bei 160°C

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 20 kPa bei 1 Millionen Lastwechsel ± 10 kPa bei 2 Millionen Lastwechsel

Leckagefläche:

< 0.5 m2

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sicherheitsanforderung

SIL-4

Anordnung:

im Haupttunnel oder in der Spurwechselzone

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

Optional:

Integrierte Fluchttüre

 

Nothaltestellen-Schiebetür

Diese robuste Brandschutz-Schiebetüre ist ausgelegt für die Evakuation von grösseren Menschenmengen in Hochgeschwindigkeit-Eisenbahntunnels. Die integrierte Steuerung erlaubt das automatische Öffnen und Schliessen über das Tunnel-Leitsystem.

Technische Daten

Ausführung:

1-flügelig

Dimensionen:

2‘000 mm x 2‘200 mm / 3‘000 mm x 2‘200 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

EI90 nach EN 1634

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 20 kPa bei 2 Millionen Lastwechsel

Leckage:

min. 50 m³/h bei 100 Pa

Öffnungskraft:

100 N

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

 

Schleusentor

Zum Ausgleich und Wahrung von Druckunterschieden im Tunnel kommen Schleusentore zum Einsatz und können für Personen und / oder Fahrzeuge ausgelegt sein. Besonderes Merkmal von Schleusentore ist die Schleusensteuerung, welche sicherstellt, dass nur jeweils die Türen oder Tore auf einer Seite geöffnet sind.

Um den hohen Druckanforderungen in Bahntunnels standzuhalten sind die Schleusentore aus einer verschweissten Edelstahl Rahmenkonstruktion aufgebaut. Bei Bedarf sind Sandwichplatten für den Brandschutz aufgeschraubt. Hochwertige Blähdichtungen minimieren die Leckage. Personenschutzleisten an den Haupt- und Nebenschliesskanten verhindern die Verletzungsgefahr z.B. durch Einklemmen. Personen- und Fahrzeugschleusen können manuell oder elektrisch geöffnet werden und schliessen automatisch, auch bei Stromausfall. Sowohl Personen- wie Fahrzeugschleusentore können als Drehflügel- oder Schiebetor geliefert werden.

Schleusensteuerung

Kernelement der Schleuse ist die Steuerung, welche einwandfrei auf die einzelnen Elemente wie Betätigungsimpuls, Entlüftung der Blähdichtung und Entriegelung der Türen abgestimmt sein muss. Mittels elektromagnetische Verriegelungen an allen Toren wird sichergestellt, dass nur jeweils die Tore auf einer Seite geöffnet sind. Für eine reibungslose Funktion müssen Ist die Schleuse Teil des Fluchtwegkonzeptes sind die entsprechenden Vorgaben zu berücksichtigen.

Technische Daten

Ausführung:

1- oder 2-flügelig

Dimensionen:

Personenschleuse:

 900 mm x 2‘200 mm / 1'700 mm x 2'200 mm /
1'700 mm x 2'500 mm

Fahrzeugschleuse:

3‘500 mm x 4‘000 mm / 4‘000 mm x 4‘000 mm /
5'000 mm x 4'000 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

EI00, EI30 nach EN 1634

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 10 kPa

Leckage Personenschleuse :

27 m3/h bei 1 kPa (1‘700 mm x 2‘200 mm)

Leckage Fahrzeugschleuse

128 m3/h bei 1 kPa (4‘000 mm x 4‘000 mm)

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

Optional:

Integrierte Personen-Fluchttüre in Fahrzeugschleuse

Kavernentor

Kavernentore müssen neben den technischen Anforderungen auch die Montage und Demontage im Tunnel gewährleisten. Dazu wird die Konstruktion modular aus Edelstahl-Tragrahmen auf gebaut. Kavernentore lassen sich elektrisch und manuell öffnen und schliessen.

Technische Daten

Ausführung:

2-flügelig

Dimensionen:

4‘000 mm x 5‘000 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

---

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 2 kPa

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

 

Muffenkammerntüre

Für die Stromversorgung in Bahntunnels sind Starkstromleitungen besorgt, welche in regelmässigen in Muffenkammern entlang der Hauptröhre verbunden sind. Muffenkammertüren müssen daher nicht nur den dynamischen Kräften im Tunnel standhalten, sondern auch Explosionen in den Kabelmuffen.

Um diesen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, sind die Muffenkammertüren aus tragenden Edelstahlrahmen aufgebaut. Die Türprofile und Bänder sind massiv verstärkt. Bei einer Explosion, bersten die beiden Druckentlastungsmembranen aus Edelstahl und schützen die Türe vor Überlast.

Technische Daten

Ausführung:

1-flügelig

Dimensionen:

1‘540 mm x 2000 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

---

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

+26 / -16 KPa (statisch)

Druckbelastung:

10 kPa (dynamisch) bei > 1 Mio. Lastwechsel

Berstdruck:

16 kPa

Berstfläche:

2x 0.5m2

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sonderkonstruktionen

Elkuch ist spezialisiert auf technisch hochwertige Tür- und Torsysteme für höchste Ansprüche. Neben Standardlösungen für Bahntunnels werden auch massgeschneiderte Sonderanfertigung nach Kundenwunsch entwickelt und hergestellt. Eine Auswahl erfolgreich übergebener Systeme:

  • Besucherfenster
  • Mobiles Erhaltungstor
  • Kavernentore
  • Vorgefertigtes Wandelement

Besucherfenster

Ein Tunnel darf sich zeigen lassen, am besten durch ein Besucherfenster. Die Tragkonstruktion aus Edelstahl ist auf drei Seiten mit bruch- und stossfestem Sicherheitsglas versehen. Zugang zum Besucherfenster ermöglichen 1 oder 2-flügelige Drehflügeltüren mit Brandschutz

Technische  Daten

Dimensionen:

auf Anfrage

Feuerwiderstand:

EI90 nach EN 1634 (Türen)

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 10 kPa

Leckage:

60m3/h m2 bei 10kPa

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Mobiles Erhaltungstor

Das mobile Erhaltungstor (MET) ist ein schienengebundenes Spezialfahrzeug mit einem Falttor, das an definierten Positionen im Gotthard Basistunnel den Tunnelquerschnitt für Wartungszwecke verschliesst.

Technische  Daten

Ausführung:

1 Element mit 2 Seitenflügel klappbar

Dimensionen:

40.62 m2

Feuerwiderstand:

---

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 6 kPa, 1 Mio. Lastwechsel

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Kavernentore

Kavernentore müssen neben den technischen Anforderungen auch die Montage und Demontage im Tunnel gewährleisten. Dazu wird die Konstruktion modular aus Edelstahl-Tragrahmen auf gebaut. Für die Brandschutztauglichkeit wird die Struktur mit Brandschutzplatten ausgerüstet. Kavernentore lassen sich elektrisch und manuell öffnen und schliessen.

Technische Daten

Ausführung:

1- oder 2-flügelig

Dimensionen

12‘370 mm x 3‘965 mm

Feuerwiderstand:

EI90 nach EN 1634

Druck- / Sogbelastung:

± 10 kPa

Nutzungsdauer:

> 30 Jahre

Sonderanfertigung:

auf Anfrage

Vorgefertigtes Wandelement (PCE)

Mit dem Ziel, die Montagezeiten im Tunnel um 90% zu reduzieren, entwickelte Elkuch das „Plug-In Crosscut Element“ (PCE). Dabei werden möglichst viele Systeme auf einer hochgenauen Wandscheibe montiert und geprüft. Ein spezielles Montagegerät ermöglicht anschliessend das Versetzen von mehreren Wandelementen im Tunnel während einer Schicht.

Technische Daten

Ausführung

Bahn und Strasse Wandelement aus Beton oder Stahl

Anfertigung:

auf Anfrage

Metro - die massgeschneiderten Herausforderungen

Metrosysteme sind die Schlagadern moderner Metropolen.
Auf engstem Raum müssen Menschen, Maschinen und Infrastruktur perfekt aufeinander abgestimmt sein.
Elkuch entwickelt und liefert Tür und Torsysteme, welche den verschiedenen Ansprüchen und Anforderungen eines Metrosystems genügen.

Anpassungsfähiges Produktportfolio
Die Elkuch Systeme werden nach den System abhängigen
Anforderungen ausgelegt und hergestellt.
Mögliche Anwendungen sind:

  • Portaltor
  • Fluchttüren
  • Rettungstüren